noobball.blogg.se

Bultaco pursang battery
Bultaco pursang battery






How come ? What happened the first time ? Points gap was a bit wide - reset that.". How did you set the timing when fitting EI on the Sherpa ?ģ/ "Anyway, decided to check points and timing again. Has someone been using the joint face to lever against? Do you have a paper joint to keep the crud out ? Why did you replace the lighting coil ?Ģ/ "Set the points gap and bought myself a dial guage to set the timing.". Referring to the photo.+1 johnsy's post re the cleaning.

bultaco pursang battery

I cleaned everything, new points, condenser, replaced the lighting coil, all seemed to go together easily." Your original post asks "Where am I going wrong?" - well, taking each point in turn, here's a few thoughts of mine :-ġ/ "the bike had been sitting for years and the stator and accociated bits were dusty, rusty and neglected. Finally,put the condenser up under the tank as often mentioned in these forums,it is well worth doing.Hope this helps,John. I accept it is fiddly & time consuming at the points end,but do it as quality electrical contacts is the only way to go for reliability. If blackened or discoloured at all,replace all 3 or 4,whatever you have,with new tinned wires.I say tinned,much better quality than bare copper. Next,strip back an inch or so off one of the wires terminating up under the tank.

bultaco pursang battery

Why do I tell you this? Because I think you have high resistance between 2 aluminium surfaces.

bultaco pursang battery

#Bultaco pursang battery skin#

It is a cleaner for ovens,& pans etc:but do wear gloves,it is rather nasty stuff for skin ! It may take a couple of goes,then clean thoroughly with hot water. If it was mine I would remove the points plate & give the casing a good scrub with Fairy power spray, and a stiff toothbrush. Your picture shows the crankcase behind the points plate in a bit of a state. Hi,an interesting carry on,but I have 2 things for you to have a look at. I've not dismantled the points from when it was running great.Īm I missing a tiny fibre washer that I remember from Mini and Cortina days?Įverything else works fine - stoplight, headlight, tailight, horn (haha) - it has a two week old MoT. Where am I going wrong? Surely one side of the points should be isolated from earth. NOW - the question is: no matter which combination of leads from the stator I connect to my timing test light (as well written up elsewhere on here - and in the workshop manual) I can't make it go on/off with the opening of the points - only if I take the stator off the crankcase can I get a make/break circuit. I had marked the timing on the back plate and that hadn't slipped as I thought it might have done. Air filter is a new oiled Inmotion one.Īnyway, decided to check points and timing again. Plug is getting wet and there's a good spark. It was a mid range backfire on acceleration, wide open throttle seemed to be fine. Next time out backfire was still there.Still easy to start hot or cold. I thought it might be muck in the carb and cleaned the tank and carb and checked the flow from the taps. on it's third outing it developed a backfire - from/through the exhaust I think - not the carb. Ripping across the fields and around the yard the bike went very well, easy to start, hot or cold. Set the points gap and bought myself a dial guage to set the timing.Īn evening in the garage had things assembled and timed fine. I cleaned everything, new points, condenser, replaced the lighting coil, all seemed to go together easily. Took a while to set up, the bike had been sitting for years and the stator and accociated bits were dusty, rusty and neglected. On my Frontera 152 I couldn't afford the electronic ignition so stayed with the points system.

bultaco pursang battery

It does not store any personal data.On my Sherpa 325 I put InMotion electronic ignition - bolt on - could not have been easier. The cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance". This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary". The cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional". The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics". These cookies ensure basic functionalities and security features of the website, anonymously. Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly.






Bultaco pursang battery